Annihilation barge …. done!

Grimy warriors pilot an ancient Annihilation barge

My top secret technique with which I am painting all my Necron armour is revealed in these photographs of my first Annihilation barge.

The ancient cracked armour, with hints of golden power circuits beneath, contrasts with the dusty ceramic pilot and crew.

I have already produced a Monolith with the same technique and three Destroyers have their carapaces in the same ‘cracked’ style. Again, I have used my limited pallette of grey, silver and green on the crew and weapons, with only the rather wonderful cracked armour in  a stone colour. If you look carefully you will see that the armour has a golden undercoat that shows through some of the larger cracks.

A complex but satisfying kit

So , what’s the kit like?

The Annihilation barge model is fantastic. Games Workshop really have got their act together now that their minis are designed using computers. The parts all fit wonderfully but this leads to  a problem as the kit is complex. It seems that the designers realised they could squeeze more onto the sprue and decided to push it to the limit. It is even more complex to paint as I found that I had to paint most of the model in parts before gluing it together when almost finished. The kit also comes with extra pieces to transform it into a Command barge. Simply replace the twin linked Tesla destructors with a pulpit and Necron Overlord.

Overall, the model went together well and took a long time to manufacture only because I painted sub-assemblies separately and found myself waiting for elements to be ready before I could proceed. I’m looking forward to seeing this mini in action on the tabletop.

9 thoughts on “Annihilation barge …. done!

  1. Very nice mate. I bet that technique would look great on power armour as well. Now get those Necrons painted so i can take your Guard for a spin at the Invitational 🙂

  2. I just discovered this post whilst searching for bone/ceramic Necrons, and I have to say that this primary colour and effect is exactly what I am hoping to achieve as well. It looks amazing Michael, I absolutely love it!

    Would you be willing to share your method please, via e-mail or something? Or at least a few hints? I would really appreciate it, I can’t seem to find worthwhile info anywhere else.

    Thank you very much.

    • Linton,

      Keep this to yourself but it’s really easy to do! My local hardware store sells a product called ‘crackle glaze’. It is meant to ‘age’ furniture but as you can see does a pretty good job on Necron models. It is a two part aerosol spray paint and you can choose the undercoat and there are also different colours for the surface effect. I would suggest you do a quick google search and see what pops up!

      Good luck!

      • Thanks very much Michael, I really appreciate it. I have seen two-part glazes but the cracks produced didn’t seem big enough on a vehicle for what I want, whereas yours appear online to be bigger and more prominent, much better suited. Thus my enthusiasm for your “secret technique” 🙂

        I found a single-application crackle glaze in a hobby store here (BC). I will give it a go and keep my eyes open for the aerosols.

        Cheers.

Leave a Reply

