The Finecast experience (Part 1)

Well since Games Workshop’s new Finecast project burst onto the Gaming/Hobbying scene last summer I’ve ignored both the hype and the naysayers and waited to see for myself how the replacement for White metal would fare.Apart from getting a box of the Dark Eldar Wracks which I only opened to inspect (and wasn’t very impressed with due to excess flash and broken components), I didn’t own any other Finecast miniatures until my wife bought me three of the Necron characters for Christmas.

So this morning with me having a few days off over half term I decided to crack open what used to be refered to as a blister pack, and get to work on my Necron Cryptek.

Apart from one of the arms having come off the sprue nothing appeared to be broken. I gave the components a cursory look over noticing that the Cryptec staff arm would need straightening and resetting as it is warped, but there didn’t appear to be any of major air bubble holes I’ve heard tell of. However I did notice about five or six  small red bits moulded into various parts of the Cryptek torso with the resin (from what I’ve previously read on the subject I believe that these may be part of the mould).

Next up I clipped the main Cryptek one piece body (legs, torso and the majority of the left arm) from the sprue with the intention of cleaning it up ready for construction. This is where it started to go down hill rather rapidly.

Two hours Bl**dy work!

Now I’ve been building models for about the last 35 years and have worked on a variety of plastics, lead (as it was back in the day), White metal and resin products (care of Forge World), however never in all that time have I come across anything that was badly moulded as this. It took me close to 2 hours to get the model to a standard that I deemed as acceptable for painting and use on the table top (and this was only one part of the full minature)!

Whilst the resin itself is a lot easier to trim away than White metal, the amount of excess flash is totally unacceptable. For example the left side of the torso, inside of the left cloak, and top of the left leg was completely obscured with excess material and I spent the best part of an hour clearing this gunk away and resculpting the model to ensure it looked like the picture of a Cryptek supplied with the model .

I did find one major air bubble that had previously been obscured by a large lump of excess material on the left thigh, and this will need filling (or leaving as a bullet hole I suppose).

If this is what GW class as Finecast I’d hate to see what other classification they propose to give to models not deemed as Finecast . I certainly would have to agree with Tag these products have picked up amongst the Gaming/Hobbying community and lable my Cryptek as “Failcast”.

As stated earlier my intention was always to reserve judgement on Finecast until I had first hand experience, and I also was happy to give the product the benefit of the doubt regarding manufacturing teething problems I’d heard of, however this Crytpek moedel  is  a new sculpt and has been produced at least six months after the new process was initiated.

Clearly this product is not fit for purpose (regarding it’s preparation readiness), and at this stage it’s looking like I will be steering away from Failcast in the future.

Let see how the assembling and painting of the model goes, as to whether I will be detracted from my current feelings on the product or whether my findings are further solidified.

Finally I’d like to ask as to what experiences have others here on the Blog found regarding Finecast, or your intentions towards it?

3 thoughts on “The Finecast experience (Part 1)

  1. Rob,
    I feel your pain. There are, of course pro’s and con’s to Finecast. It is clearly easier to work with than metal, takes superglue very well, and provides a nice painting surface that has a good texture and holds the paint superbly. On the other hand you have made a good case that often the mouldings are poor and this spoils the improved detail that is clearly the objective.

    I can fix most of the moulding issues during construction so I am not too worried about that. What annoys me is tendency for delicate parts of the mini to warp, both when new in the blister, and especially during transportation. My Crypteks arrrived safely to the Jolly Toys event last week. When I opened the sponge case all of their staffs’ were bent. Now, I know that I only had to dip them in my hot tea for ten seconds and pull them back into place but this is a real problem and certainly for Golden Daemon quality painters for whom this would ruin their chances.

    Overall, plastic is best. Finecast is barely acceptable but can be made to work, as you have shown, with some effort. Two final advantages that Finecast have over metal is that they do not chip as easily and are more robust when you drop them! Overall I am torn. The detailing is great when the moulding is good. They are more friendly to the gamer, the modeler and the painter, but the mould quality is poor and the material is ‘bendy’. I still can’t make up my mind whether to be angry or grudgingly congratulate GW for at least trying to produce something better than metal.

    Michael

  2. Whilst I understand the reasoning behind the introduction of a Resin product as a replacement for White metal, what I find unacceptable is GW’s better than sliced bread attitude to a product that clearly still has some fundamental product flaws.

    As stated earlier I will need to see how the model assembles and paints up, but I wasn’t aware of the issue with components bending after construction and I wouldn’t be looking forward to that (I might actually consider some conversion work using my metal and plastic Necrons bitx box).

  3. I am in the same boat as you. After resisting for nearly a year, I just bought my first Finecast this week (Space Marine Librarian in Terminator Armor). It looks stunning, but a big chunk of one arm was missing. I can fix bubbles, flash, and mold lines, no problem. But I don’t have the ability to create detailed pieces of body out of green stuff. And at $22.50 a pop, I shouldn’t need to. But I called customer service and they offered to replace it.

    So overall, I’m satisfied. It looks great, feels great, and is a joy to paint. I’ll definitely buy Finecast again, but look carefully inside the package before I make the purchase. I think there is a loud, angry minority out there who have had bad experiences. But in their defense, when you hype a product like GW did, you better expect to receive flak when expectations aren’t fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

