Glorious Performance at the Northern Warlords 40K GT

 

Dawn of War II - Life-Size Space Marine

There were a lot of these but marines clearly were suffering from performance anxiety unless they were Wolves!

Top Necron Player in a cast list that read like a whos who of 40K players is a real result for me!

I’m so excited that I came 14th and received a painting nomination. A great weekend.

A very good selection of armies with Nids and Eldar showing they still can be effective along with Guard but with the new Daemons doing well.

Game 1 Brett Armitage (Grey Knights with Space Wolf allies)
The ‘bore draw’ mission and Brett castled up behind his aegis defence line. He scored first blood with long range shooting at my scarabs. I teleported into his deployment zone to achieve linebreaker. This was going to be a draw until Corteaz’s head exploded when he took a perils of the warp wound! One dead warlord means a lucky win to me!

Game 2 Iain Miller (Space Wolves)
Iain kindly deployed behind his defence line leaving just enough room for a brave Necron player to teleport in two big units of warriors! The Long fangs died quickly and whilst Iain was preoccupied a small commando group of warriors ran into the middle of the table picked up the Relic and ran off with it. A great game and a good win for me.

Game 3 James Ramsey (Tyranids)
I had no idea what James army did! two flying hive tyrants, 2 Harpies and three Tervigons with a million little bugs left me bewildered and despite my best efforts I was unable to climb the steep leaning curve before being overwhelmed. Well done James and thanks for teaching me more than I want to know about FMCs!

Game 4 Johnathon Brown (Grey Knights)
Johns army was tiny! Ten Paladins, ten Terminators, two Stormravens and Draigo. There were five objectives and John combat squadded all his Terminators. I managed to deepstrike and concentrate fire on one unit and killed them for the First blood point. The other terminator unit was charged by 10 scarab bases that tied it up all game eventually just about killing each other and Obyron delivering the coup de grace to the last remaining Terminator. Meanwhile the Storm ravens were horrible and I could not move Draigo off the central objective. on the last turn My flyer killed three paladins with its deathray removing them from an objective and his storm ravens failed to blow my Warriors off two objectives which meant that I managed a healthy win. Another great game that could easily have swung either way!

Game 5 Johnathon Swallow (Necrons)
How was I supposed to beat 6 Flyers and 12 Wraiths?? Well I managed it with some luck. John brought his flyers on at one end of the table which was being played long ways and kept his wraiths hidden behind his own Aegis defence line. Nothing had happened until turn three when I teleported in front of his flyers and managed to shoot one of them down with gauss fire. he moved on and shot up one of my barges and a unit of warriors. His wraiths charged a large unit of Warriors who lost by 4 but passed the test and teleported out of combat in order to shoot down another flyer. This was very close as the comparative kill points were neck and neck until the last turn. I charged his HQ unit and wiped it out puting me one kill point behind with no turns remaining. His Storm lord faced Obyron who did three wounds on the Stormlord. The Storm Lord failed two and died (for the second time). This meant that I got a kill point for killing the Storm Lord plus another for killing the warlord! Phew! they dont come much closer than that! Great game and a surprise win for me!

Game 6 Paul Burke (Imperial Guard)
I’ve know Paul for years and I know he is a very good player. I was not fancying my chances against 3 Vendettas and 10 other assorted tanks. Despite killing all his vehciles except two Vendettas and a Chimera, I lost this game due to two things. Firstly on my first turn I moved by barges one inch too far forward so that they were melta gunned by disembarking troops from Chimeras. Secondly, Pauls Vendettas were too much to deal with and the two remaining were able to claim objectives that Paul had cleverly placed on the upper floors of buildings. (A nice trick that I should remember)

Name Points
1. Gaz Jones 160
Eldar
2. Alex Harrison 151
Space Wolves
3. Paul Burke 151
Imperial Guard
4. Chris Dickinson 140
Tyranids
5. Nathan Roberts 131
Daemons
6. Cuddles 131
Tyranids
7. Andy Oakham 122
Daemons
8. Princess 122
Daemons
9. Shane Metcalf 122
Imperial Guard
10. Adam Brandeth 122
Grey Knights
11. Rich Morgan 122
Orks
12. Rob Sims 122
Grey Knights
13. Greg Mountford 122
Blood Angels
14. Michael Bolton 122
Necrons
15. Tom Gould 122
Necrons
16. Chris Green 111
Necrons
17. John Swallow 102
Necrons
18. Scott Nicholls 102
Daemons
19. Sean Gill 102
Necrons
20. David Walcot 102
Tau
21. Richard Arnold 93

22. Tim Smith 93
Grey Knights
23. Rob Madeley 93
Necrons
24. Andy Southern 93
Space Wolves
25. Paul Turner 93
Imperial Guard
26. Dan Sackett 93
Grey Knights
27. Gareth Donnelly 93
Necrons
28. James Clarke 93
Daemons
29. Simeon Pollard 93
Necrons
30. Leigh Martin 93
Dark Eldar
31. Chris Varney 82
Space Wolves
32. Geoff Hamilton 82
Black Templars
33. Brett Armitage 73
Black Templars
34. Ste Oneill 73
Tyranids
35. Rob Hoyle 73
Orks
36. Chris Houlding 73
Tau
37. Graham White 64
Imperial Guard
38. Iain Miller 64
Space Wolves
39. Jonathan Brown 64
Grey Knights
40. Brad Zalad 64
Space Wolves
41. Steve Scribins 64
Space Marines
42. Nathan Curbishley 64
Grey Knights
43. Ol Knesebeck 64
Space Marines
44. Jonathan Doyle 53
Orks
45. Andy Moore 53
Eldar
46. Nat Hoyle 44
Space Marines
47. David McCurdy 44
Blood Angels
48. Peter Sidaway 44
Space Marines
49. Pat Divers 35
Space Wolves
50. Andy Davies 35
Dark Eldar
51. Dan Little 35
Chaos Space Marines
52. Paul Bennett 35
Imperial Guard
53. Josh Kopach :wink:

4 thoughts on “Glorious Performance at the Northern Warlords 40K GT

Leave a Reply

