Rumble in the Jungle

Image

 

The Ribble Rumble is fast approaching. A 1650pts hardcore tournament that is one of the best social events in the UK.

Neil, Michael, Rob and myself will be attending, so the Cold Steel Mercs will be out in force.

 

I still haven’t finalised a list yet, but I’m definitely using my Castigators.

I played Rob last week with the list I took to Conflict 2013 minus the Aegis Defence Line and he kicked me all over the table. I’ve come to the conclusion that, in it’s current state, my army needs  the ADL to have any chance of pulling off a victory.

So N’kari, My Keeper of secrets, is taking the weekend off and I’m putting the ADL back in. That gives me 152pts to play with and from that I need a Herald to lead the Daemonettes. I’m going to try out a Herald with Beguilement for 75pts and add another 3 bikers to my current squad of 5 and see how they fair. So my latest list will look like this:

Lord, MoS, Steed, Lightning Claw, Burning Brand and Sigil of Corruption.

10 Noise Marines, 2 Blastmasters, 7 Sonic Blasters & Icon of Excess.

10 CSM, MoS, 2 Melta, aspiring champion with lightning claw & combi melta.

Heldrake.

8 Bikers, 2 Melta, aspiring champion with lightning claw.

Predator, Autocannon & Lascannons.

Vindicator, dozerblade & combi-bolter.

Herald with Beguilement.

18 Daemonettes, Alluress.

Aegis Defence Line, Quad Gun.

It’s far from optimised, but I’m hoping it will give me and my opponents some interesting games. My first game will be against Geoff Hamilton and I know he’ll be using a couple of Heldrakes, so I’ll be up against it right from the off as my army will struggle to deal with them and his Nurgle Obliterators. Fortunately he isn’t using Nurgle Spawn so that’s something ;-). One thing is for certain, my first game will be a good laugh. We’re both using mono god armies and Geoff is a top bloke to play against so it’s a win win for the first game :-).

So what is everybody else taking and what are you hoping for?

Me? I’ll be happy with two wins, lots of beer and many tales of twisted pleasure!

13 thoughts on “Rumble in the Jungle

    • Not a problem…..I will never buy Finecast 😉

      As soon as I wrote this I suddenly thought ‘drop the bikers and put in a Soul Grinder instead,’ decisions, decisions….

  1. I will be using the Necrons with two Monoliths. Slight change to my normal list as I cannot fit in the C’tan so I will be taking Vargard instead.

    Vargard
    Ben’Son – Necron Lord on a barge
    Roth’Man – Cryptek with Abysal Staff
    9 x Deathmarks in a Nightscythe
    17 x Warriors
    3 x 6 Warriors
    Annihilation Barge
    2 x Monoliths
    Aegis defence line and Quad gun

    Came last at Conflict witha list like this so looks like Gary and I will be playing each other on the bottom tables!

    • Due to a computational error caused by a massive disturbance in the warp I realise I cannot fit In the aegis defence line. So everything else is the same. Sorry.

  2. Well not going to be able to take what I originally wanted as I have no chance of getting it painted. So probably be a butchered Khorne Daemon list or may even take battlewaggon Orks.
    Need to make a decision before Friday as lists need to be in.
    Either way not expecting to win many as this weekend is about drinking not toy soldiers :-))

    • OK having looked at what options I can take to Rumble I have fallen into the trap of borrowing a bent army because I cannot take my Khorne Daemons. I have resigned myself to giving my Daemon army to Mr Scott and giving him till Pompey to paint it. That way I know it will be ready.

      So my bent and cheesy offering for Rumble will be (and a big thankyou goes out to Mr.Marsh and Mr. Hamilton)
      St Celestine
      2 x 10 sisters Heavy Bolter Meltagun in Rhino’s
      3 Exocist
      Command Squad 4Plasma’plasma pistol
      10 Vets 3 melta Chimera
      10 Vets 3 melta
      3 Vendettas

  3. So I’ve settled on my list, which is slightly different to what I originally had planned…mainly because I need to add a little more fire power for the inevitable Wave Serpents and Riptides that are sure to be about.

    Lord, MoS, Steed, Lightning Claw, Burning Brand and Sigil of Corruption.
    10 Noise Marines, 2 Blastmasters, 7 Sonic Blasters & Icon of Excess.
    10 CSM, MoS, 2 Melta, aspiring champion with lightning claw & combi melta.
    Heldrake.
    5 Bikers, 2 Melta, aspiring champion with lightning claw.
    Predator, Autocannon & Lascannons.
    Predator, Autocannon & Lascannons.
    Vindicator, dozerblade & combi-bolter.
    Herald of Slaanesh.
    17 Daemonettes.
    Aegis Defence Line, Quad Gun.

    Having seen some of the lists that will be there, I’ve decided that I’ll be happy with one win ;-).

  4. Well done all, I see Mr Scott was top CSM and retains the champion of chaos title. It looks like it was a good event and as it is the 20th anniversary next year and I attended the first one I will endeavor to join you next year.

Leave a Reply

