Time To Focus

Image

So I’m looking at my project boxes scattered all over the place which currently include, Nine Cataphractii Terminators, Five Engineered Spawn (had to postpone them because I’ve run out of Talos bits), a gift of the gods daemon Prince, a gift of the gods Spawn, a Slaanesh Soulgrinder, a Slaanesh Daemon Prince,a Biker Lord, 4 Bikers and three ultra spangly Noise Marines.

I’ve realised my proposed ‘hobby list’ hasn’t really helped me focus on anything.

With my Hobby Butterfly Syndrome running rampant and threatening to take over my house, I finally have the incentive I need to focus on something…..praise Slaanesh for the ‘Restricted Access’ Tournament……

 

Tim (tourney Organiser) has allowed me to make use of the Helbrute Data-Slate, so I’m using this as an excuse to start yet another ‘project box’ Woohoo!….err…hang on….No I can do this…..honest!

Restricted Access has a few rules that have necessitated this. The main things being that No Allies are allowed and that Elites, Fast Attack and Heavy support are limited to one slot until all the slots are filled and then another can be taken (it’s an old ‘Battle of the Chumps’ rule that proved to be very entertaining in 5th). What this means is that I need to find 300+ points to fill in for my Daemons.

Originally I planned to add some Terminators, a Sorceror and increase the size of my bike squad, but after getting a sound thrashing from Rob last week I was struggling with something that would last longer than four turns. Imagine my delight when Tim Okayed the use of Data-Slates. Suddenly my problems were solved…..enter the Mayhem Pack.

For those not in the know, a Mayhem Pack consists of three Deepstriking Dreads Helbrutes. Having played against Paul and Robs, I know that these aren’t as good as they sound. Two thirds of the time you don’t have control of them because they suffer from ‘Crazed’ every turn, but crikey they’re fun to play against. So I set about building a 1500pt list and I’ve finally settled on the following:

Nestor Lustheart, MoS, Steed of Slaanesh, Burning Brand, Lightning Claw.
5 Noise Marines, Blastmaster.
5 Noise Marines, Blastmaster, 3 Sonic Blasters.
10 Chaos Marines, MoS, 2 Melta, Combi-Melta and Lightning Claw.
Mayhem Pack (counts as 3 Elite Choices), Dread with Multi-Melta and Fist x2, Dread with Plasma Cannon and Power Scourge.
Heldrake, Baleflamer.
5 Bikers, MoS, 2 melta and Lightning Claw.
Vindicator, combi-bolter.
Predator, Autocannon, 2 Lascannons.

That leaves me 10pts to play with, which will probably go on Melta Bombs for a couple of characters.

Of course the problem with this is that the two Dreads that I have are armed for the old Codex…..D’oh, so it’s time to get out my Dark Vengeance Dread and the Helbrute box I bought and get cracking. So far here’s where I’m at.

Image

One of the problems I had was that I’d butchered my DV Helbrute to use on my Heldrake, fortunately after rummaging through my ‘bits box’ I came across the Dark Eldar Talos body and after a bit of chopping and filing, found it would suit a Slaanesh Dread perfectly.

Image

Behold, Wratha the Risen. There’s still a bit of work to do on him, but I’m hoping to have him primed up by tomorrow.

Having spent most of yesterday and today working with the kits, I have to say that I prefer the DV Helbrute to the new Helbrute kit. The new kit takes ages to put together but it does have plenty of spare parts that I plan to use on one of my old Dreads, specifically the Plasma Cannon and Power Scourge. I’m planning on using the Blog to show my progress and hopefully there’ll be more posts to follow in the coming week.

Until next time, Stay Frosty!

5 thoughts on “Time To Focus

  1. Why is the helbrute formation counting as 3 elite choices? It is a single vehicle formation I thought and so will count as one choice and only 1 kill point? If not how do you field the unit that I took to the CSM get together of 5 helbrutes? Oh and I am running the 1 helbrute with 2 cultist units [Helcult] for the Aldershot bash in a couple of weeks which should be entertaining….fearless cultists with a Helbrute oh go on then.

  2. It’s the Restrictions in place at the event. Because they move around independently Tim has decided that they count as separate choices for the event. Formations must fit within the Restrictions, if I took the Murder Pack (5 Dreads) they would counts as one Elite choice because they are a single unit.
    Personally, I think you’re playing them wrong Steve, although they’re a Data-Slate Formation, they aren’t a vehicle squadron. Do you play that killing the Riptide in the Tau Formation doesn’t give you a kill point until you have killed all of the Broadsides?

  3. Hmmm I see your point although I don’t see why they are not a vehicle squadron. I concede the giving up a KP for each model but surely they fight as a pack not 5 models don’t they?

  4. Forget that, just reread the rules [always dangerous] the cults are different in their description for formations. The 5 strong unit is a vehicle formation but the 3 strong unit is not. Hmmm that opens up a lot of possibilities.

Leave a Reply

